(UPDATED) TNGOP Election Night Statements

NASHVILLE, Tenn.-August 4, 2016–The Tennessee Republican Party released the following statements from Chairman Ryan Haynes congratulating various winners of the 2016 August election around the state:

U.S. House District 6

“Congressman Diane Black has been an incredible voice for conservative values in Washington and, tonight, Tennesseans have overwhelmingly voted to support her. Whether it has been protecting life, fighting liberal policies, or slashing wasteful spending, Diane Black has been the epitome of a conservative reformer. We’re proud to support her as the Republican nominee.”

Tennessee House District 13

“I want to congratulate Representative Eddie Smith for being our Republican nominee in the 13th House District. Eddie has been a problem-solver for Knox County in the Tennessee General Assembly. His predecessor, Gloria Johnson, used the position to push an extreme liberal agenda far outside of the mainstream of Tennessee and now she wants to return to the capital. We’re ready to work alongside Representative Smith and make sure that doesn’t happen.”

Tennessee House District 65

“Sam Whitson is the Republican nominee for the 65th District and we could not be happier to support him. He has served his nation with distinction and he will do the same for his community. He will be a common sense conservative fighter for the priorities of Williamson County. We can now move forward and focus on his opponent who, as a Hillary Clinton acolyte, will be unacceptable to the vast majority of the voters.”

Tennessee House District 69

“Michael Curcio is a natural leader and a conservative fighter from the 69th District. Dickson, Hickman, and Maury Counties are ready to have a seat at the table where decisions are being made. They will have that by backing Michael Curcio for Representative this November. The Tennessee Republican Party is poised to provide Curcio all the support he needs to turn this district Republican.”

U.S. House District 4

“Congratulations to Congressman DesJarlais on his impressive victory tonight in Tennessee’s Fourth Congressional District. Voters know that DesJarlais will continue being one of the most conservative members of Congress and a strong advocate for his district’s priorities in Washington.”

Tennessee Senate District 20

“Steve Dickerson has a proven record as a mainstream leader for Davidson County. We congratulate him for his win tonight and we’re ready to make sure he continues as a strong member of the State Senate in November.”

U.S. House District 8

“Congratulations to David Kustoff on his hard-fought victory in the Eighth Congressional District. Another thoughtful conservative has joined our ranks with these results. David will be a solutions-seeker for West Tennessee in the mold of Congressman Stephen Fincher. We look forward to working with Mr. Kustoff to ensure the Eighth remains firmly in Republican control.”

Tennessee Senate District 4

“Having personally served with Representative Jon Lundberg in the State Legislature, I am incredibly proud of his win tonight. He’s an appropriate person to pick up the mantle of conservative leadership held by Lieutenant Governor Ron Ramsey. Jon is a good man and East Tennessee is lucky to have him as its GOP nominee for State Senate.”

Hamilton County Property Assessor

“Marty Haynes continues the tradition of turning Tennessee red to the roots. He’s been a strong conservative advocate on the County Commission and he’s going to continue that record as the Assessor of Property. We look forward to seeing Hamilton County continue to succeed under his leadership.”

[Will be updated as results are finalized.]


Leave a Reply

Celebrating Independence Day 2017

TNGOP Statement on Results of HD 95 Special Election

Joint Statement from the TNGOP and TNDP Chairs on the Horrific Attack in Alexandria, VA

TNGOP Statement on Memorial Day

Paid for by the Tennessee Republican Party
95 White Bridge Rd., Suite 414 | Nashville, TN 37205
(615) 269-4260 | feedback@tngop.org
Not authorized by any candidate or candidate’s committee

Submission of your email address constitutes consent to receive email communications. You can unsubscribe at any time.